Fried green tomatoes.

Strolling through the Farmers’ Market is one of my favorite things to do. I love looking at all the produce, letting myself be inspired by what’s available and in season. I also love people watching, which makes Saturdays a uniquely rewarding excursion. But back to the produce . . .

This particular weekend, I wanted one green tomato. I decided I would get my green-tomato-fry-on and see what came of it. The result: a flavorful, veggie-packed, unhealthy treat. It has the same effect as splitting a funnel cake and a huge plate of hand-sliced potato chips at the county fair with your mom. Not that I would know what that felt like . . .

I also have to admit that I don’t really know any other way to use green tomatoes, so if anyone wants to share a recipe or idea in the comments section, I’d be much obliged!

Starting with sliced tomatoes and jalapeños.

I made three “baths” — if you will — for the tomatoes. The first is flour spiced with all-seasons salt; the second is beaten egg; the third is cornmeal with a blackened cajun seasoning mix. I dunked the tomatoes in this order as well. Then, it was into the cast iron pan for some heroic fry action.

         

I fried the jalapeños the same way, although they take very little time to brown, so be vigilant!

To construct the sandwich, I basically layered cheese, jalapeños, tomatoes, red onion, sliced avocado, and some spicy mayo between two slices of bread. I grilled it like a grilled cheese, and the result is the following greasy, tasty, once-in-a-looong-while meal! Not pictured: a tall glass of milk to cool the jalapeño burn. Enjoy!

1 comment
  1. Gabrielle said:

    Looks wonderful! And with our first snow, I have a number of green tomatoes! Perfect timing! I haven’t done it, but I’ve read green tomatoes make a great pickle.

Add your thoughts

