Gluten-free corn cakes

I have uncovered a secret weapon in the grocery store that I’d like to share with you. Behold!

This gluten-free baking mix got me thinking about how I could use it creatively . . and given my love of pancakes for dinner, I think I found a way to shake things up a bit.

Gluten-free Corn Cakes

1 c. Pamela’s gluten-free pancake mix

2 ears of cooked corn (cut the kernels off them)

1 small sweet red pepper

1/2 green jalapeño pepper

4 green onions

chili powder, ground cumin, sweet paprika, and salt to taste

1 egg

3/4 c. water

Mix it all together in a medium bowl and let sit for about 3-4 minutes.

Pour enough oil into a skillet to evenly coat the bottom. Heat on medium. Once the skillet is hot, spoon the batter onto the skillet, turn over when you can see a little bit of golden brown on the bottom edge.

To serve, garnish with some fresh avocado slices and some homemade pico de gallo. Trust me, your taste buds are going to go wild!

Add your thoughts

