Da’ brews.

Now that the final papers have been turned in, it’s time to celebrate! This is what I’ve been working on thus far in 2012: three homebrews!!

1. Felix Felices (right), dear readers, is an interpretation of what Harry Potter’s Butterbeer would taste like if it were made into an adult beverage. This one was brewed back in January with my dear sister. At its base is a Vanilla Caramel Cream Ale, and it carries a whopping 6.2% ABV. Tagline: “Get Lucky”

2. HOPscotch (middle) is a dry hopped pale ale that I made with my friends, Luisa and Rick, on St. Paddy’s Day 2012. It uses a clone of Deschutes Mirror Pond Pale Ale as the base. You can see the specific recipe I used here. It’s really a delicious, clean, clear beer. 4.7% ABV. Tagline: “A Tribute to the Good Times” (Thanks Conor!)

3. Dubbel Vision 2.0 (left) is the reincarnation of an original brew that I developed last year to commemorate two of my brilliant siblings who graduated from their respective universities. I thought it might be neat to brew a beer in their honor, and then gift it to them for their celebrations. It was a fun challenge creating a beer that would represent the both of them, and I must say that even the madre enjoyed a glass of Dubbel Vision 1.0! In any case, here’s the story:

One of my siblings is a Belgian beer snob, hence the use of a Dubbel as my base recipe. The other is a little more . . . adventurous . . . with flavor pairings. Although I considered pitching chocolate and garlic into secondary, in the end I figured they wouldn’t have gone well with the hops (inside joke, sorry)! I did, however, substitute some local honey for a portion of the Belgian candy sugar, and then added some organic figs, as well as a few madagascar vanilla beans. The result is a gorgeous, deep amethyst-brown beer that smells and tastes amazing. I would like to tweek it once more to get a bigger, maltier taste — it may be a touch too sweet for me — but this year is an improvement over 2011, nonetheless. Topping out at 9.2% ABV, this monster will only improve with age.

Sidenote: The Dubbel Vision is taking a while to carbonate fully, but if there are a few bottles ready to go soon, I may enter them in the UpCup. Fingers are crossed!!!

To your health! -K

Add your thoughts

